Kirjaston informaatikot kokosivat 24.5.2023 järjestettyä SM12-kurssin tekstityöpajaa varten ulkomaisia tiedonlähteitä operaatiotaidon ja taktiikan tutkimuksen tueksi. Tältä sivulta löydät kootusti vinkkejä ulkomaisen ohjesäännöstön, sotilasstandardien, sotatieteellisen tutkimuksen ja alan ammattilehtien paikantamiseen. Työpajan muut aineistot löydät tuvepvmoodlen työtilasta mpkkkirj.
"On tärkeää, ettei tutkija rajoita aiempaan tutkimukseen perehtymistä vain Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulun opinnäytetöihin, vaan aihealue huomioiden selvittää myös siviiliyliopistoissa ja ulkomaisissa sotilas- ja siviiliyliopistoissa sekä tutkimussäätiöissä, NATO STO:ssa (Science and Technology Organization) sekä EDA:ssa (European Defence Agency) tehdyt tutkimukset."
-Tähtinen, Janne: Perehtymisvaihe, Näin tutkin taktiikkaa : tutkimusprosessi operaatiotaidon ja taktiikan näkökulmasta. Janne Tähtinen (toim.), Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulu, Helsinki 2022, s.28.
"Tutkimustilanteen esittelyssä on huomioitava Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulussa tehty ja tekeillä oleva tutkimus, muu Puolustusvoimissa tehty tutkimus, muu kotimainen tutkimus sekä ulkomainen tutkimus. Tutkimustilanteen esittelyllä perustellaan tutkimukselle asetettu tutkimustehtävä."
-Tähtinen, Janne: Suunnitteluvaihe, Näin tutkin taktiikkaa : tutkimusprosessi operaatiotaidon ja taktiikan näkökulmasta. Janne Tähtinen (toim.), Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulu, Helsinki 2022, s.51.
Tietokantoja
Sotilasalan tutkimusta julkaistaan alan tiede- ja ammattilehdissä sekä erilaisten tutkimuslaitosten julkaisuissa, joita on koottu alla listattuihin tietokantoihin. Tietokannat sisältävät valikoitua ja helposti haettavaan muotoon asetettua julkista aineistoa, myös paljon sellaista joka ei löydy verkon hakukoneilla tai jotka olisivat muilla hakukoneilla käytettäessä maksullisia.
- EBSCO Discovery Service (2023)EBSCO Discovery Service on yhden luukun hakupalvelu useimmista kirjaston lisensoimista sähköisistä palveluista. Palvelussa on haettavissa useita tuhansia kansainvälisiä ammatti- ja tiedelehtiä, konferenssijulkaisuja ja tuhansia englanninkielisiä e-kirjoja.
Tuve-käyttäjän linkki EBSCO Discovery Service -palveluun.
Lisätietoja ja ohjeita EBSCO Discovery Service -palvelun käyttöön. - EBSCO Military & Government CollectionEBSCO Military & Government Collection sisältää kansainvälisten sotilasalan lehtien kokotekstejä (yli 300 julkaisua) sekä viitetietoja (yli 400 julkaisua). Palveluun sisältyy sekä sotilasalan ammattilehtiä että vertaisarvioituja sotatieteellisiä julkaisuja. Tuve-käyttäjä: klikkaa tästä
- JSTOR Security StudiesJSTOR Security Studies Collection sisältää turvallisuuspolitiikan tieteellisiä aikakauslehtiä ja tutkimusraportteja. Tuve-käyttäjä: klikkaa tästä.
- ProQuest Military DatabaseProQuest Military Database sisältää kansainvälisten sotilasalan lehtien kokotekstejä sekä viitetietoja. Palveluun sisältyy sekä sotilasalan ammattilehtiä että vertaisarvioituja sotatieteellisiä julkaisuja. Tuve-käyttäjä: klikkaa tästä.
- Taylor & Francis Strategic, Defence & Security Studies CollectionTaylor & Francis Strategic, Defence & Security Studies Collection sisältää keskeisiä strategian ja kansainvälisen politiikan alan vertaisarvioituja julkaisuja. Tuve-käyttäjä: klikkaa tästä.
Sotilasalan opetus- ja tutkimuslaitosten tietokantoja
Upseerikoulutusjärjestelmät vaihtelevat huomattavasti maittain, joten alan oppilaitoksissa ei välttämättä laadita opinnäytteitä tai harjoiteta julkaisutoimintaa. Alla on listattu eri asevoimien opetus- ja tutkimuslaitosten julkisia tutkimus- ja opinnäytetietokantoja.
- Calhoun: The NPS Institutional ArchiveNaval Postgraduate Schoolin (US) julkinen tutkimustietokanta.
- Center for Militære Studier, Institut for Statskundskab, Københavns UniversitetThe Centre for Military Studies is a research Centre at the Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen. CMS works closely with the Danish Ministry of Defense, the Danish Armed Forces and the politicians with the aim of researching relevant topics, developing ideas and identifying options.
- CERES Research Repository - Cranfield Defence and SecurityIso-Britannian puolustushallinnon opinnäytteitä ja tutkimuksia Cranfieldin yliopistossa.
- Defence Research & Development Canada (DRDC)Kanadan puolustushallinnon julkinen tutkimustietokanta.
- Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG)Australian puolustushallinnon tutkimuslaitoksen tietokanta.
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)DTIC on Yhdysvaltain puolustusministeriön julkinen tutkimustietokanta.
- Foreign Military Studies OfficeYhdysvaltain maavoimien Foreign Military Studies Officen julkaisemia tutkimuksia ja raportteja.
- Forsvarets Forskningsdatabase / Danish Defense Research PortalTanskan puolustushallinnon julkinen tutkimustietokanta.
- Forsvarets høgskole - høgskolens digitale arkivNorjan maanpuolustuskorkeakoulun julkinen tutkimustietokanta.
- Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library Digital LibraryCommand and General Staff Collegen (USA) kirjaston digitaaliset kokoelmat.
- IUM - Instituto Universitário MilitarPortugalin sotakorkeakoulun julkaisuarkisto. Aineisto on pääosin portugaliksi, mutta tiivistelmät ovat saatavilla englanniksi.
- Joint Special Operations University PublicationsJSOU Press is the scholarly publishing arm of United States Special Operations Command (USSOCOM).
- King's Research PortalKing's College Londonin opinnäytteitä ja tutkimuksia. KCL:n yhteydessä toimivat mm. Department of War Studies, Department of Defence Studies ja King's Intelligence & Security Group
- Norwegian Defence Research Establishment (FFI)Norwegian Defence Research Establishment (FFI) is the prime institution responsible for defence-related research in Norway. The Establishment is the chief adviser on defence-related science and technology to the Ministry of Defence and the Norwegian Armed Forces’ military organization.
- openHSU - Repository und FISHelmut-Schmidt-Universität - Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburgin tutkimus-, opinnäyte- ja julkaisuarkisto.
- Repository of Croatian Defence Academy "Dr. Franjo Tuđman"Digital repository gathers, permanently stores and allows open access to digital versions of scientific research, intellectual and creative property of an institution, its employees and students. The repository stores students’ M.A. and B.A. theses, dissertations, pre-print papers, scientific and professional papers, research data, books, teaching materials, images, video and audio files, presentations and digitized material.
- School of Advanced Military Studies Monographs (U.S. Army Command and General Staff College)The School of Advanced Military Studies (SAMS) is one of the parts of the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College (CGSC). This collection contains all the publicly releasable monographs produced since the program began in 1986. SAMS monographs typically address historical events, current operational issues, or new organizational concepts.
- TRADOC G-2 Operational EnvironmentOE Portal (Public) for Information sharing and collaboration with the G-2 Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC), US Army.
- Zentrum für Militärgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaften der BundeswehrZentrum für Militärgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaftenin (ZMSBw) kirjallisuutta, julkaisuja ja podcasteja, pääasiassa yhteiskuntatieteiden ja sotahistorian alalta.
Ajatuspajat - Think Tanks
Asejärjestelmät ja määrävahvuudet
Asejärjestelmistä löydät tietoa alan tutkimustietokannoista ja lehdistä, mutta esimerkiksi seuraavat tietokannat ovat hyödyllisiä ja viittauskelpoisia.
- Military Balance (PDF)Military Balance -vuosikirjat vuodesta 1997 PDF-muodossa Taylor & Francis Online -palvelussa. Tuve-käyttäjä: klikkaa tästä.
- Military Balance+Military Balance + -palvelu sisältää Military Balance -vuosikirjoista tuttua tilastotietoa ja analyysia eri asevoimien organisaatioista, asejärjestelmien määristä sekä puolustusteollisuuden trendeistä tietokantamuodossa. Tuve-käyttäjä: klikkaa tästä.
- ODIN Worldwide Equipment GuideODIN (Operational Environment Data Integration Network) Worldwide Equipment Guide on U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Commandin ylläpitämä, mm. OPFOR-koulutuksessa käytettävä kalustotietokanta. Lisätietoja ja ohjeita tästä.
Tietoja asejärjestelmistä löydät myös kirjallisuudesta, sekä painetusta että nykyään kasvavassa määrin sähköisestä. Painettujen kirjojen osalta keskeinen aineisto ovat vuosittain päivittyvät, aihepiireittäin jaotellut Jane's -vuosikirjat. Kirjoja voit tiedustella MPKK:n kirjaston lainaamosta. Esimerkkejä:
- (2020). Jane's land warfare platforms: Armoured fighting vehicles - Tracked. Jane's.
- (2020). Jane's land warfare platforms: Artillery & air defence. Jane's.
- (2020). Jane's C4ISR & mission systems: Land. Jane's.
Tietoja asejärjestelmistä löytyy myös erilaisista avoimista lähteistä, mutta näiden luotettavuus vaihtelee. Tutustu pvmoodlessa Veli-Pekka Kivimäen luentoon ja vinkkeihin avointen lähteiden tiedonhankinnasta.
Sanastoja, käsitteitä, määritelmiä
Hakutermien paikantamisessa auttavat NATOTerm-tietokanta, tieteen termipankki TEPA ja MOT-sanakirjapalvelu. Huomaa että terminologia muuttuu ajan myötä ja saattaa olla erilaista eri englanninkielisissä maissa. Oikeat hakusanat löytyvät lukemalla rinnakkaistekstejä (eli vaikka samaan teemaan liittyviä uudempia lehtiä ja ohjesääntöjä) ja perehtymällä aiheeseen.
- DOD Dictionary of Military and Associated TermsYhdysvaltain puolustusministeriön sanasto. Uusin vapaasti verkossa oleva versio marraskuulta 2021.
- IATE (Interactive Terminology for Europe)IATE (Interactive Terminology for Europe) is the EU's terminology management system.
- MOT-sanakirjatSähköinen sanakirjapalvelu, joka sisältää myös erilaiset SA-sanastot. Palvelu toimii TUVE- ja Funet -verkoissa.
- Pohdintoja sotatieteellisistä käsitteistä TekijäJulkaisupäivä: 2016
- Nato-sanasto (Valtioneuvoston kanslia)Valtioneuvoston kanslian projektissa valmisteltu Nato-sanasto antaa suosituksia suomen- ja ruotsinkielisiksi vastineiksi englanninkielisille nimikkeille ja termeille.
- NATOTerm : the official NATO Terminology DatabaseNATOTerm contains non-classified military terminology, as well as non-military terminology relevant to NATO. NATOTerm is available in both NATO official languages, i.e. English and French, and is maintained by the NATO Terminology Office, which is part of the NATO Standardization Office. NATOTerm is updated on a regular basis to promulgate newly approved terminology. In addition to this, NATOTerm is being populated with the legacy terminology from specialist NATO glossaries.
- TEPA-termipankki : erikoisalojen sanastojen ja sanakirjojen kokoelmaTEPA-termipankin sanastot, sanakirjat ja termitietokannat sisältävät yli 365 000 termitietuetta, joissa on erikoisalojen termejä ja määritelmiä. TEPAn yleisimmät kielet ovat suomi, ruotsi, englanti ja saksa. TEPAan sisältyy mm. Kokonaisturvallisuuden sanasto.
Doktriinit ja ohjesäännöt ulkomailla
Ohjesäännöstön saatavuus ja julkisuusaste vaihtelee maittain. Eniten aineistoa on saatavilla Yhdysvalloista. Alla listattuna merkittävimpiä julkisesti saatavilla olevia kokonaisuuksia.
- Air Land Sea Space Application (ALSSA) Center MTTPSYhdysvaltalaisia puolustushaarojen yhteistoimintaan liittyviä taktisen ja taisteluteknisen tason ohjesääntöjä ja oppaita. Pääosa vapaasti saatavilla.
- Army Publishing Directorate (APD)Yhdysvaltojen maavoimien ohjesääntöjä ja muita julkaisuja. Pääosa on vapaasti saatavilla. Yhdysvaltojen maavoimien aineistoja löydät myös Central Army Registry (CAR) -palvelusta.
- Central Army Registry (CAR)Yhdysvaltojen maavoimien ohjesääntöjen, koulutusmateraalien ja muiden julkisten aineistojen (ml. äänikirjat) tietokanta. Yhdysvaltojen maavoimien aineistoja löydät myös Army Publishing Directorate (APD) -palvelusta.
- FAS Intelligence Resource ProgramFederation of American Scientists -järjestö ylläpitää eri lähteistä koottua hakemistoa yhdysvaltalaisista julkisista ohjesäännöistä. Ajantasaisin ohjesäännöstö kannattaa varmistaa Yhdysvaltain puolustushallinnon virallisilta sivuilta.
- Försvarsmakten - DokumentRuotsin puolustusvoimien doktriinit, ohjesääntöjä, käsikirjoja ja muita julkaisuja PDF-muodossa. Osa aineistosta saattaa olla saatavilla vain painettuna ruotsalaisista alan kirjastoista, joten tarkista myös Libris-palvelu ja tee tarvittaessa tilaus kirjaston kaukopalvelun kautta.
- Joint Electronic LibraryYhdysvaltain puolustushaarakomentajien neuvoston doktriinijulkaisut. Osin vapaasti käytettävissä.
- Marine Corps Publications Electronic Library (MCPEL)Yhdysvaltain merijalkaväen ohjesääntöjä ja muita virallisjulkaisuja. Pääosa on vapaasti saatavilla.
- NATO Standardization OfficeNaton standardipalvelusta löydät ohjesääntöjä vastaavat Naton standardit. Osa standardeista on vapaasti käytettävissä. Puolustusvoimien henkilökunnalla on pääsy myös käyttörajoitettuihin standardeihin. Palvelu edellyttää henkilökohtaista kirjautumista. Katso ohjeet Tornista: Tietopankit ►Wiki ►Standardipalveluiden käyttöohjeet.
- U.S. Air Force DoctrineSivustolta löydät Yhdysvaltain ilmavoimien doktriiniasiakirjat ja muita hyödyllisiä aineistoja. Pääosa on vapaasti saatavilla.
NATO - tutkimusta ja standardeja
NATO-tutkimusta ja standardeja löydät esimerkiksi seuraavista palveluista.
- NATO Joint Air Power Competence Centre (JAPCC) PublicationsThe JAPCC’s mission is to provide advice and subject matter expertise for the transformation of Joint Air and Space Power; provide independent analysis and solutions to the Alliance of Nations, as well as future-oriented visions of Air and Space Power, all of which have to be realised in high-quality real-time professional output and targeted media. Our diverse online publication archives and academic material are professionally produced to communicate effectively and be recognised as a reliable and professional resource.
- NATO Science and Technology Organization (STO)Naton tekniset raportit ja muut julkaisut. Osa raporteista kaikkien luettavissa. Puolustusvoimien henkilökunnalla on pääsy myös käyttörajoitettuihin tutkimuksiin. Katso ohjeet TUVEpvmoodle-työtilasta mpkkkirj.
- NATO Standardization OfficeNaton standardipalvelusta löydät ohjesääntöjä vastaavat Naton standardit. Osa standardeista on vapaasti käytettävissä. Puolustusvoimien henkilökunnalla on pääsy myös käyttörajoitettuihin standardeihin. Palvelu edellyttää henkilökohtaista kirjautumista. Katso ohjeet Tornista: Tietopankit ►Wiki ►Standardipalveluiden käyttöohjeet.
- NATO StratCom COE PublicationsNaton strategisen viestinnän keskuksen Stratcom COE -tutkimuslaitoksen julkaisut.
Muista tutustua myös NATO Libraryn kokoelmatietokantaan ja opassivustoon.
Sotilasopetuslaitosten kirjastotietokantoja
Sotilasopetuslaitosten kirjastoissa saattaa olla painettuna sellaista julkista aineistoa, mikä ei ole verkossa saatavilla. Tällöin ne on usein mahdollista hankkia kirjastojen välisen kaukopalvelun kautta. Tutustu kirjastojen kokoelmiin ja tee tarvittaessa kaukopalvelutilaus.
- Air University LibraryYhdysvaltain ilmasotakorkeakoulun kirjastotietokanta.
- Anna Lindh Library - FörsvarshögskolanRuotsin maanpuolustuskorkeakoulun kirjastotietokanta.
- Army University Library System (AULS)Yhdysvaltain maavoimien kirjastojen yhteistietokanta.
- Baltic Defence College LibraryBaltic Defence Collegen kirjastotietokanta.
- Dudley Knox Library - Naval Postgraduate SchoolNaval Postgraduate Schoolin kirjastotietokanta.
- Forsvarets høgskole - BibliotekNorjan puolustusvoimien kirjastojen (Krigskolen, Luftkrigskolen, Sjøkrigsskolen) yhteistietokanta.
- Forsvarsakademiets BibliotekTanskan maanpuolustuskorkeakoulun kirjastotietokanta.
- Marine Corps University Research LibraryYhdysvaltain merijalkaväen yliopiston kirjastotietokanta.
- Massey Library - Royal Military College of CanadaRoyal Military College of Canadan kirjastotietokanta.
- McDermott Library - United States Air Force AcademyYhdysvaltain ilmasotakoulun kirjastotietokanta.
- NATO LibraryNATO Libraryn kirjastotietokanta ja ohjesivustot.
- Nimitz Library - United States Naval AcademyYhdysvaltain merisotakorkeakoulun kirjastotietokanta.
- Sjöstridsskolans bibliotekRuotsin merisotakoulun kirjastotietokanta.
- The General Jonas Zemaitis Lithuanian Military AcademyLiettuan sotilasakatemian kirjastotietokanta ja sähköinen julkaisuarkisto.
Ulkomaisia puolustushaara- ja aselajilehtiä
Julkista sotilasammatillista keskustelua käydään erilaisissa puolustushaara- ja aselajilehdissä. Alla listattuna merkittävimpiä sähköisessä muodossa vapaasti saatavilla olevia lehtiä. Osa julkaisuista on vertaisarvioitu. Puolustushaara- ja aselajilehtien (hiipuvasta?) roolista ja korvaavista alustoista sotataidollisessa keskustelussa kts. esim. Bring Back Branch Magazines - Modern War Institute (usma.edu).
- Air & Space Operations Review (ASOR) Air & Space Operations Review (ASOR) is the operations-focused peer-reviewed journal of the flagship journal effort of the Department of the Air Force. The journal seeks to foster intellectual discussion and debate among airpower and spacepower practitioners and leaders at home and abroad.
- Air Defense Artillery Journal The Air Defense Artillery Journal serves as a forum for the discussions of all U.S. Army Air Defense Artillery professionals, Active, Reserves and National Guard; disseminates professional knowledge about progress, development and best use in campaigns; cultivates a common understanding of the power, limitations and application of Fires, both lethal and nonlethal; fosters Fires interdependency among the armed services, all of which contribute to the good of the Army, joint and combined forces and our nation.
- Allgemeine Schweizerische Militärzeitschrift Sveitsiläinen sotilasalan aikakauslehti, saatavilla verkossa 12kk embargolla vuodesta 1948.
- ARMOR : Mounted Maneuver Journal ARMOR magazine is the Armor Branch’s professional-development bulletin, published bimonthly.
- Army AL&T Magazine Army AL&T magazine is the award-winning quarterly professional journal written by and for the Army Acquisition Workforce and its many stakeholders. Its purpose is to educate, motivate and instruct readers through in-depth, analytically oriented articles featuring lessons learned, best practices and innovation across the Army acquisition enterprise. Authored by subject-matter experts, the magazine is the Army’s premier resource on acquisition, logistics, technology, and contracting--in other words, the inside story on the products and the services that Soldiers depend on in every aspect of their service.
- Army Sustainment : The Army's Official Professional Bulletin on Sustainment Army Sustainment's mission is to publish timely, authoritative information on Army and Department of Defense sustainment plans, programs, policies, operations, procedures, and doctrine for the benefit of all Army personnel. Its purpose is to provide a medium for disseminating and exchanging sustainment news and information and a forum for expressing original, creative, innovative thought about sustainment.
- Australian Army Journal (Australian Army Research Centre) The Australian Army Journal was first published in the 1940s. Contributions to the journal may be made by serving members or those with an interest in the Australian Army and its activities. The Australian Army Journal commenced publication in 1948 and continued through to 1976. It was revitalised in 1999 and continues to this day.
- Engineer: The professional bulletin for Army engineers Engineer presents professional information designed to keep U.S. military and civilian engineers informed of current and emerging developments within their areas of expertise for the purpose of enhancing their professional development. The objectives of Engineer are to inform, motivate, increase knowledge, improve performance, and provide a forum for the exchange of ideas.
- Field Artillery Professional Bulletin The Field Artillery Professional Bulletin serves as a forum for the discussions of all U.S. Army and U.S. Marine Corps Field Artillery professionals, Active, Reserves and National Guard; disseminates professional knowledge about progress, development and best use in campaigns; cultivates a common understanding of the power, limitations and application of Fires, both lethal and nonlethal; fosters Fires interdependency among the armed services, all of which contribute to the good of the Army, joint and combined forces and our nation.
- Infantry Magazine Infantry is an Army professional bulletin prepared for quarterly publication by the U.S. Army Infantry School at Fort Benning, Ga. Our mission is to provide current information on training, organization, weapons, equipment, tactics, and techniques and to provide a forum for progressive ideas. We also include relevant historical articles with emphasis on the lessons we can learn from the past.
- Joint Force Quarterly (JFQ) NDU Press produces Joint Force Quarterly in concert with ongoing education and research at National Defense University in support of the Secretary of Defense and the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. JFQ is the Chairman's joint military and security studies journal designed to inform and educate national security professionals on joint and integrated operations; whole of government contributions to national security policy and strategy; homeland security; and developments in training and joint military education to better equip America's military and security apparatus to meet tomorrow's challenges while protecting freedom today.
- Journal of Advanced Military Studies (ent. Marine Corps University Journal) The Journal of Advanced Military Studies (JAMS) is an open access journal that offers a forum for open dialogue between scholars, policy makers, analysts, and military leaders and of crossing civilian-military boundaries to advance knowledge and solve problems.
- Journal of Military Learning The Journal of Military Learning is a peer-reviewed semiannual publication that supports efforts to improve education and training for the U.S. Army and the overall Profession of Arms.
- Military Police : the Professional Bulletin of the Military Police Corps Military Police is an Army professional bulletin for the Military Police Corps Regiment. It contains information about security and mobility support, police operations, and detention operations. The objectives of Military Police are to inform, motivate, increase knowledge, improve performance, and provide a forum for the exchange of ideas.
- Military Review : the Professional Journal of the U.S. Army The Military Review provides an established and well-regarded Army forum to stimulate original thought and debate on topics related to the art and science of land warfare.
- Naval War College Review The Naval War College Review is a scholarly journal, published quarterly since 1948 under the auspices of the U.S. Naval War College and the Department of the Navy. The thoughts and opinions expressed in the publication are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the department or the U.S. Naval War College.
- Navy Supply Corps Newsletter A quarterly newsletter highlighting the Navy Supply Corps and NAVSUP. It features stories from the field and fleet, as well as ashore. Distributed to more than 1200 commands, totaling over 2500 copies per quarter.
- OE Watch : Foreign News & Perspectives of the Operational Environment Operational Environment Watch provides translated selections with background from a diverse range of foreign media that our analysts and expert contributors believe will give security professionals an added dimension to their critical thinking about the Operational Environment.
- Parameters : The U.S. Army War College Quarterly The US Army War College Quarterly, Parameters, is a refereed forum for contemporary strategy and Landpower issues. It furthers the education and professional development of senior military officers and members of government and academia concerned with national security affairs.
- Prism : the Journal of Complex Operations PRISM is published by National Defense University. PRISM is a security studies journal chartered to inform members of U.S. Federal Agencies, Allies, and other partners on complex and integrated national security operations; reconstruction and nationbuilding; relevant policy and strategy; lessons learned; and developments in training and education to transform America’s security and development apparatus to meet tomorrow’s challenges better while promoting freedom today.
- Revue Militaire Suisse Sveitsiläinen sotilasalan aikakauslehti, saatavilla verkossa 12kk embargolla.
- The British Army Review The British Army Review is intended to provide a forum for the discussion of all matters of professional interest to the soldier. Articles are invited from all ranks and from others having a special knowledge of or interest in military affairs.
- The Canadian Military Journal The Canadian Military Journal is the official professional publication of the Canadian Armed Forces and the Department of National Defence. The Journal is published quarterly in both official languages (English and French) under authority of the Minister of National Defence.
- The Combat Edge : Air Combat Command's Safety Magazine The Combat Edge, Air Combat Command's quarterly safety magazine, began as Tactical Air Command's TAC Attack in 1961. It served to educate, inform, and entertain the command for more than 30 years, until the command's deactivation June 1, 1992. This date also marked the activation of Air Combat Command, and the first edition of The Combat Edge magazine was published in June 1992.
- The Fires Bulletin (-2019) The Fires Bulletin is a joint professional publication for U.S. Artillery professionals. The magazine is published bi-monthly.
- The Journal of the JAPCC The Journal of the JAPCC serves as a forum for presenting topics and stimulating innovative thinking about strategic, operational and tactical aspects of ‘Transforming Joint Air and Space Power’.
- The Mobility Forum : the Magazine of Air Mobility Command The Mobility Forum articulates the importance of safety in the air and on the ground through informative articles based on first-hand experiences in a variety of Air Force professions.
- The Three Swords : The Magazine of the Joint Warfare Centre THE THREE SWORDS is the Joint Warfare Centre's (NATO) authorized magazine published three times a year by the Public Affairs Office.
- Veritas : Journal of Army Special Operations History Veritas is the official history publication published by the United States Army Special Operations Command, Fort Bragg, North Carolina. The contents are compiled, edited, and prepared by the USASOC History Office. The U.S. Army Special Operations Command (USASOC) History Office facilitates the collection and preservation of documents, photos and other historical records generated by Army Special Operations Forces.
- Æther : A Journal of Strategic Airpower & Spacepower Æther: A Journal of Strategic Airpower & Spacepower (Æther) is the flagship strategic journal of the Department of the Air Force, fostering intellectual enrichment for national and international security professionals. Æther provides a forum for critically examining, informing, and debating national and international security matters as they relate to airpower and spacepower. Contributions to Æther will explore issues relevant to national and international security as they relate to national and international airpower and spacepower.
Kielitaitoiset voivat tutustua myös ranskalaisiin alan lehtiin, jotka löytyvät kätevimmin Pensées mili-terre -sivustolta.
Sotilasopetus- ja tutkimuslaitosten podcasteja
Operaatiotaidon ja taktiikan alan julkista keskustelua on siirtynyt tiede- ja ammattilehdistä erilaisiin audiovisuaalisiin medioihin, kuten Youtube-kanaville tai podcasteihin. Alla erilaisten alan viranomaistoimijoiden podcasteja. Yhdysvaltojen puolustushallinnon eri toimijoiden virallisia podcast-sarjoja on koottuna myös DVIDS (Defense Visual Information Distribution Service) -palvelussa.
- Aether: The Podcast (Air University) This podcast features interviews with journal authors and other experts, discussing national and international security as these issues relate to airpower and spacepower.
- Air Power and International Security (University of Portsmouth) Welcome to the Air Power and International Security Podcast. Brought to you by the University of Portsmouth's Military Education Team (PME), this show aims to develop understandings of the use of air and space power in the contemporary world. PME are a group of scholars working at RAF Cranwell and RAF Halton dedicated to the study of air and space power. In these episodes we will explore various issues relating to the theory and practice of military power across all domains (not just air!), international security and current affairs, and the history of military aviation and space power.
- Breaking Doctrine (US Combined Arms Doctrine Directorate) Breaking Doctrine is the podcast of the US Combined Arms Doctrine Directorate (CADD) at Fort Leavenworth, KS. The podcast will explore timely topics of interest, regarding current and emerging Army and joint doctrine. Our guests will include a broad range of Army and other Service professionals with the vast knowledge and years of experience required to facilitate discussion on a variety of military doctrine-related topics.
- CDSN Podcast Network (Canadian Defence and Security Network) We now have 4 network podcasts: 1. Battle Rhythm is hosted by Stephen Saideman, Anessa Kimball, Artur Wilczynski, Erin Gibbs and Linna Tam-Seto, and released every second Wednesday, features timely discussion on the defence and security issues of the day, as well as feature conversations with experts. 2. Conseils de sécurité hosted by Sarah-Myriam Martin-Brûlé and JC Boucher, comes out the corresponding Wednesdays that Battle Rhythm doesn't and is completely en français. 3. SecurityScape is a monthly podcast produced by graduate students from the Centre of Military, Security, and Strategic Studies. Each episode highlights scholars and students and the important research they are conducting relating to security. 4. The NATO Field School will bring you field reports via a ‘special’ (occasional) podcast featuring the NATO Field School staff, students, and guest speakers. Each episode will be moderated by NFS staff and students and themed to a particular topic, discussing key takeaways and unique perspectives while discussing this topic with experts and decision-makers in the field. https://www.sfu.ca/politics/natofieldschool.html
- Centre for Military Studies podcast (University of Copenhagen) Defence and security policy - international settings for Danish decisions. Research-based seminars, talks, and interviews.
- Conversations on Strategy (U.S. Army War College) Conversations on Strategy features quick analyses of timely strategic issues. Topics are geared toward senior military officials, government leaders, academicians, strategists, historians, and thought leaders interested in foreign policy, strategy, history, counterinsurgency, and more. The series first aired in March 2022 and includes more than 25 episodes that range in length from 15–30 minutes long. Guests include Press authors and subject matter experts from the US Army War College and other PME and academic institutions who discuss hot topics like the Russia-Ukraine War, China, Taiwan, artificial intelligence, manned-unmanned teaming, infrastructure, terrorism, urban warfare, the Middle East, and more.
- Decisive Point (US Army War College) Decisive Point – the USAWC Press Podcast Companion Series. The Strategic Studies Institute (SSI) is the U.S. Army’s institute for geostrategic and national security research and analysis. SSI conducts global geostrategic research and analysis that creates and advances knowledge to influence solutions for national security problems facing the Army and the nation. SSI serves as a valuable source of ideas, criticism, innovative approaches, and independent analyses as well as a venue to expose external audiences to the U.S. Army’s contributions to the Nation.
- FOI Rapporterat FOI, the Swedish Defence Research Agency, is one of Europe’s leading research institutes in defence and security.
- Irregular Warfare Podcast (Modern War Institute at West Point) The Irregular Warfare Podcast explores an important component of war throughout history. Small wars, drone strikes, special operations forces, counterterrorism, proxies—this podcast covers the full range of topics related to irregular war and features in-depth conversations with guests from the military, academia, and the policy community. The podcast is a collaboration between the Modern War Institute at West Point and Princeton's Empirical Studies of Conflict Project.
- Le Collimateur (Institut de Recherche Stratégique de l'Ecole Militaire) Bienvenue dans le Collimateur, le podcast de l'IRSEM consacré aux questions militaires et stratégiques. Deux formats hebdomadaires animés par Alexandre Jubelin : - Un entretien-analyse sur des questions de défense, diffusé le mardi à 8h - Un récit d'opérations par des militaires (en partenariat avec l'Ecole de guerre), intitulé "Dans le viseur", le vendredi à 8h. AVERTISSEMENT : l’IRSEM a vocation à contribuer au débat public sur les questions de défense et de sécurité. Les propos tenus par les invités du podcast n'engagent qu'eux et ne peuvent d'aucune manière être attribués à l'IRSEM. Plus généralement, les publications et activités de l'IRSEM n’engagent que leurs auteurs et ne peuvent d'aucune manière être attribués au ministère des Armées.
- Militärhistoria (Försvarshögskolan) Försvarshögskolans militärhistoriker och deras gäster samtalar om krig och samhälle.
- Pineland Underground (U.S. Army John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School) The official podcast of the U.S. Army John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School at Fort Bragg, North Carolina. Green Berets, Major Bobby Tuttle and Sergeant Major Chuck Ritter, embark on a journey to provide the best podcast in the military with bi-monthly relentless awesomeness. Real. Bold. Un-restricted.
- Preble Hall Podcast (U.S. Naval Academy Museum) A naval history podcast from Preble Hall - the United States Naval Academy Museum in Annapolis, Maryland. Preble Hall will interview historians, practitioners, military personnel, and other experts on a variety of naval history topics from ancient history to more current events.
- SJMS Talks (Scandinavian Journal of Military Studies) SJMS Talks is an academic podcast published by the journal, Scandinavian Journal of Military Studies (SJMS). The podcast aims to bridge the gap between peer-reviewed academic scholarship and current affairs. In the 20-minutes episodes, chief editor, Jeppe Teglskov Jacobsen, invites one of the journal contributors to discuss recent developments related to their published research. By doing so, the podcast demonstrates the practical and political applicability of Military Studies as an academic discipline.
- Social Science of War (West Point Department of Social Sciences) A production of the Department of Social Sciences at the United States Military Academy, Social Science of War brings together leading research and practitioner perspective to tackle some of the biggest challenges facing the US Army.
- Sotataidon ytimessä (Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulu) Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulun Sotataidon ytimessä -podcastissa sotataidon asiantuntijat keskustelevat yhteiskuntaan ja sen turvallisuuteen liittyvistä kysymyksistä. Jaksoissa käsitellään muun muassa strategiaa, kyberiä, operaatiotaitoa ja -taktiikkaa, Venäjää, Kiinaa, Natoa ja ilmapuolustuksen tulevaisuutta. Tutkitulla tiedolla Maanpuolustuskorkeakoulu on tulevaisuuden sotataidon ytimessä myös muutosten keskellä.
- Tactics and Operations (Marine Corps Tactics and Operations Group) Tactics and Operations is the official podcast of the Marine Corps Tactics and Operations Group, part of Marine Air Ground Task Force Training Command in Twentynine Palms, California. MCTOG and this podcast are dedicated to advancing Maneuver Warfare and Twenty-first Century Learning and are primarily focused at commanders and staffs at the battalion and regimental levels.
- The #BruteCast (Marine Corps University) The #BruteCast is a lecture and discussion series hosted by the Krulak Center at Marine Corps University, Marine Corps Base Quantico. The #BruteCast connects the worlds of the warfighter and professional military education (PME) with the best in innovative and creative thought.
- The Centre for Army Leadership Podcast Drawing on over 300 years of British Army leadership experience, 'The Centre For Army Leadership Podcast' looks to get to the heart of what is required of our leaders and our leadership, to meet the challenges of both today and tomorrow. For the British Army leadership underpins everything that we do. It not only ensures we do right by our people, but critically it underpins our operational success. This Podcast Series seeks to harness diversity of thought and experience, from leaders across the military, sport, academia and business worlds, stimulating debate, awareness and critical thinking. Leadership matters to us all and our successes, and indeed our failures, are so often defined by how well we are led, or indeed by how well we lead. We hope by sharing our experiences and by learning from others we can promote the value of great leadership, and together we can develop ourselves, our teams and in turn the society in which we live.
- The Convergence - An Army Mad Scientist Podcast The Convergence is an Army Mad Scientist podcast with a distinct focus on divergent viewpoints, a challenging of assumptions, and insights from thought leaders and subject matter experts. The purpose of "The Convergence" is to explore technological, economic, and societal trends that disrupt the operational environment and to get a diversity of opinions on the character of warfare.
- The Cove Podcast (The Australian Army) The Cove Podcast aims to explore all aspects of Professional Military Education within the Australian Army. From short tips and soldier's fives to interviews of Army personnel on operations, find out how the men and women of today's Australian Army work towards professional excellence.
- The Modern War Institute Podcast (Modern War Institute at West Point) The Modern War Institute Podcast is the flagship podcast of the Modern War Institute at West Point. Featured guests include senior military and defense leaders, scholars, and others who discuss the most important issues related to modern conflict.
- The Operational Arch (School of Advanced Military Studies) The official podcast of the School of Advanced Military Studies, dedicated to bridging the gap between tactics and strategy through the study of operational art and the operational level of war.
- The Precision-Guided Podcast (Georgetown University's Center for Security Studies) The official podcast of the Georgetown Security Studies Review (GSSR), discussing all things national security, history, military, and foreign policy. GSSR is the official flagship publication of Georgetown University's Center for Security Studies, featuring both online commentary and a biannual academic journal.
- The Proceedings Podcast (U.S. Naval Institute) The Naval Institute is a private, not-for-profit educational institution whose mission is to provide an independent forum for those who dare to read, think, speak, and write to advance the professional, literary, and scientific understanding of sea power and other issues critical to global security.
- The Spear (Modern War Institute at West Point) The Spear is a podcast from the Modern War Institute at West Point. It aims to explore the combat experience, with each episode featuring a guest who tells a detailed and personal story, describing the events and exploring topics like decision-making under stress and what it feels like to be in combat.
- Thinking Inside the Box - The Gauntlet (Operations Group, National Training Center) "Thinking Inside the Box" brings you interviews with the United States Army's experts in combined arms maneuver, the Observer Coach Trainers (OC/Ts) of Operations Group, at the National Training Center (NTC), Fort Irwin, California.
- TRADOC Talks (U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command) Discussions about developing leaders in the profession of arms.
- Urban Warfare Project (Modern War Institute at West Point) As the world becomes more urban, military forces must be prepared for cities to become battlefields. The Urban Warfare Project podcast, from the Modern War Institute at West Point, features conversations with practitioners and scholars and sets out to explore the unique characteristics of urban warfare.
- USAHEC Perspectives Lectures Series (U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center) Military History Lectures and Events held at the U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center, brought to you in podcast form. Our lecturers are scholars, soldiers, and authors who are speaking to a U.S. Army audience about military history and the history of war.
- War Studies (Department of War Studies, King's College) Welcome to the War Studies podcast. We bring you world-leading research from the School of Security Studies at King’s College London, the largest community of scholars in the world dedicated to the study of all aspects of security, defence and international relations. We aim to explore the complex realm of conflict and uncover the challenges at the heart of navigating world affairs and diplomatic relations, because we believe the study of war is fundamental to understanding the world we live in and the world we want to live in. If you’ve enjoyed this podcast, please rate and review us on your preferred podcast provider – it really helps us reach more listeners. The School of Security Studies harnesses the depth and breadth of expertise across War Studies and Defence Studies to produce world-leading research and teaching on issues of global security that develops new empirical knowledge, employs innovative theory, and addresses vital policy issues.
Suomalaisissa yliopistoissa tehty tutkimus
Suomalaisissa yliopistoissa ja tutkimuslaitoksissa löydät melko kattavasti Finna.fi ja Tiedejatutkimus.fi -palveluista. Finna.fi sisältää suomalaisten yliopisto- ja muiden kirjastojen kokoelmat, suomalaisissa korkeakouluissa laaditut opinnäytteet sekä kotimaisten tiede- ja ammattilehtien artikkeliviitteet.
Tiedejatutkimus.fi palveluun toimitetaan OKM:n tiedonkeruussa suomalaisten yliopistojen, ammattikorkeakoulujen, tutkimuslaitosten ja yliopistollisten sairaaloiden tutkimusten tiedot. Tiedejatutkimus.fi eroaa Finnasta esimerkiksi siten, että palveluun toimitetaan tiedot myös suomalaisten korkeakoulujen tutkijoiden ulkomailla julkaisemasta tutkimuksesta.
- Finna.fiFinna.fi on hakupalvelu, joka kokoaa satojen kotimaisten toimijoiden aineistot saman katon alle. Monipuolisilla hakutoiminnoilla pääset helposti miljoonien aineistojen äärelle ilmaiseksi.
- Tiedejatutkimus.fiTiedejatutkimus.fi on opetus- ja kulttuuriministeriön (OKM) tarjoama palvelu, joka kokoaa ja jakaa tietoa Suomessa tehtävästä tutkimuksesta.