Sociological Paradigms and Organisational Analysis Tekijä Gareth Morgan; Gibson BurrellThe authors argue in this book that social theory can usefully be conceived in terms of four broad paradigms, based upon different sets of meta-theoretical assumptions with regard to the nature of social science and the nature of society. The four paradigms - Functionalist, Interpretive, Radical Humanist and Radical Structuralist - derive from quite distinct intellectual traditions, and present four mutually exclusive views of the social work. Each stands in its own right, and generates its own distinctive approach to the analysis of social life. The authors provide extensive reviews of the four paradigms, tracing the evolution and inter-relationships between the various sociological schools of thought within each. They then proceed to relate theories of organisation to this wider background. This book covers a great range of intellectual territory. It makes a number of important contributions to our understanding of sociology and organisational analysis, and will prove an invaluable guide to theorists, researchers and students in a variety of social science disciplines. It stands as a discourse in social theory, drawing upon the general area of organisation studies - industrial sociology, organisation theory, organisational psychology, and industrial relations - as a means of illustrating more general sociological themes. In addition to reviewing and evaluating existing work, it provides a framework for appraising future developments in the area of organisational analysis, and suggests the form which some of these developments are likely to take.
ISBN: 9781857421149
Julkaisupäivä: 2001
Organization theory : modern, symbolic, and postmodern perspectives Tekijä Hatch, Mary JoOrganization Theory offers a clear and comprehensive introduction to the study of organizations and organizing processes. Through the unique three-perspective approach, students are challenged to explain, explore, and evaluate organizational theory, drawing on their own experiences as well asthe book's diverse practical examples.The fourth edition includes a host of new learning features, which examine the practicality of theorizing and encourage students to broaden their intellectual reach. "Theory to Practice" boxes and case studies highlight organizing processes in a range of settings, either through real-life, businessexamples or through exercises that encourage students to apply the theory to organizations they know or organizing experiences of their own. "Think like a Theorist" and "Exercise Those Perspectives" boxes then encourage students to actively theorize and evaluate, developing essential criticalthinking skills and a greater understanding of the complex knowledge with which organization theorists grapple. By taking theory off the page, students can learn through doing and adopt a reflexive stance to the world around them.Mary Jo Hatch draws on her extensive experience in the field to produce a trusted and accessible introduction to the subject that provides academic depth, engaging pedagogy, and a practical focus.This book is accompanied by a collection of online resources:For students:* Multiple-choice questionsFor lecturers:* PowerPoint slides* Figures and tables from the book* Lecturers' guide* Additional case studies
Sociological Paradigms and Organisational Analysis Tekijä
The authors argue in this book that social theory can usefully be conceived in terms of four broad paradigms, based upon different sets of meta-theoretical assumptions with regard to the nature of social science and the nature of society. The four paradigms - Functionalist, Interpretive, Radical Humanist and Radical Structuralist - derive from quite distinct intellectual traditions, and present four mutually exclusive views of the social work. Each stands in its own right, and generates its own distinctive approach to the analysis of social life. The authors provide extensive reviews of the four paradigms, tracing the evolution and inter-relationships between the various sociological schools of thought within each. They then proceed to relate theories of organisation to this wider background. This book covers a great range of intellectual territory. It makes a number of important contributions to our understanding of sociology and organisational analysis, and will prove an invaluable guide to theorists, researchers and students in a variety of social science disciplines. It stands as a discourse in social theory, drawing upon the general area of organisation studies - industrial sociology, organisation theory, organisational psychology, and industrial relations - as a means of illustrating more general sociological themes. In addition to reviewing and evaluating existing work, it provides a framework for appraising future developments in the area of organisational analysis, and suggests the form which some of these developments are likely to take.
ISBN: 9781857421149Julkaisupäivä: 2001
Organization theory : modern, symbolic, and postmodern perspectives Tekijä
Organization Theory offers a clear and comprehensive introduction to the study of organizations and organizing processes. Through the unique three-perspective approach, students are challenged to explain, explore, and evaluate organizational theory, drawing on their own experiences as well asthe book's diverse practical examples.The fourth edition includes a host of new learning features, which examine the practicality of theorizing and encourage students to broaden their intellectual reach. "Theory to Practice" boxes and case studies highlight organizing processes in a range of settings, either through real-life, businessexamples or through exercises that encourage students to apply the theory to organizations they know or organizing experiences of their own. "Think like a Theorist" and "Exercise Those Perspectives" boxes then encourage students to actively theorize and evaluate, developing essential criticalthinking skills and a greater understanding of the complex knowledge with which organization theorists grapple. By taking theory off the page, students can learn through doing and adopt a reflexive stance to the world around them.Mary Jo Hatch draws on her extensive experience in the field to produce a trusted and accessible introduction to the subject that provides academic depth, engaging pedagogy, and a practical focus.This book is accompanied by a collection of online resources:For students:* Multiple-choice questionsFor lecturers:* PowerPoint slides* Figures and tables from the book* Lecturers' guide* Additional case studies
ISBN: 9780198723981Julkaisupäivä: 2018
