Understanding Organizational Culture Tekijä Alvesson, MatsWith his usual engaging and inimitable style, Mats Alvesson takes the reader on a riveting journey through the diverse ways in which culture itself can be understood and how these powerfully inform organizational life.′ - Blake E. Ashforth, Arizona State University ′Understanding Organizational Culture comunicates complex ideas in a manner that will illuminate for those who are less familiar with the concepts discussed, as well as providing a depth and critique of interest to those familiar with the topics.′ - Claire Valentin, The University of Edinburgh Unlike prescriptive books about organizations, Understanding Organizational Culture challenges and provokes the reader to think critically. It provides an insight into organizational culture, aided by numerous empirical illustrations from ethnographic studies that develop and illustrate how cultural thinking can be used in managerial and non-managerial organizational theory and practice. Mats Alvesson answers questions of definition, explores alternative perspectives and exands on substantive issues, before discussing key issues of research and developing his framework. Further more, the advances in the field of organizational culture are synthesized for the reader by drawing upon the range of relevant literature within organization studies. Understanding Organizational Culture provides great breadth within a textbook approach - covering a wide spectrum of management and organization while at the same time developing a new theoretical approach to organizational culture. The new edition contains improved pedagogy and expanded coverage of topics such as identity and organizational change. It is essential reading for students taking undergraduate and postgraduate modules in Organizational Behaviour and Organizational Theory on Management and Organization Studies programmes, including MBA.
ISBN: 0857025589
Julkaisupäivä: 2012
Social sciences and the military : an interdisciplinary overview Tekijä Caforio, Giuseppe (toim.)This innovative book presents the reader with a clear international view of interdisciplinary and intradisciplinary approaches to military and conflict-resolution studies. In this first title on its subject, leading expert Giuseppe Caforio offers a thorough analysis of the new aspects and trends of the social sciences in studying the military. Since the end of the Cold War, military operations other than war, crisis-response operations, the fight against terrorism, and hi-tech warfare have posed for the militaries of all countries a new set of human and social challenges and problems of an intensity that had never been seen in peacetime. Sociology, social psychology, anthropology and the science of conflict are grappling with these issues, common to all armed forces, with a new fervour. This new book offers an update on the state-of-the-art on this theme and defines the latest study and research trends in the field. Social Sciences and the Military contains essays by some of the most highly regarded scholars on the subject and will be essential reading for all students of civil-military relations, conflict resolution and military studies in general.
Understanding Organizational Culture Tekijä
With his usual engaging and inimitable style, Mats Alvesson takes the reader on a riveting journey through the diverse ways in which culture itself can be understood and how these powerfully inform organizational life.′ - Blake E. Ashforth, Arizona State University ′Understanding Organizational Culture comunicates complex ideas in a manner that will illuminate for those who are less familiar with the concepts discussed, as well as providing a depth and critique of interest to those familiar with the topics.′ - Claire Valentin, The University of Edinburgh Unlike prescriptive books about organizations, Understanding Organizational Culture challenges and provokes the reader to think critically. It provides an insight into organizational culture, aided by numerous empirical illustrations from ethnographic studies that develop and illustrate how cultural thinking can be used in managerial and non-managerial organizational theory and practice. Mats Alvesson answers questions of definition, explores alternative perspectives and exands on substantive issues, before discussing key issues of research and developing his framework. Further more, the advances in the field of organizational culture are synthesized for the reader by drawing upon the range of relevant literature within organization studies. Understanding Organizational Culture provides great breadth within a textbook approach - covering a wide spectrum of management and organization while at the same time developing a new theoretical approach to organizational culture. The new edition contains improved pedagogy and expanded coverage of topics such as identity and organizational change. It is essential reading for students taking undergraduate and postgraduate modules in Organizational Behaviour and Organizational Theory on Management and Organization Studies programmes, including MBA.
ISBN: 0857025589Julkaisupäivä: 2012
Social sciences and the military : an interdisciplinary overview Tekijä
This innovative book presents the reader with a clear international view of interdisciplinary and intradisciplinary approaches to military and conflict-resolution studies. In this first title on its subject, leading expert Giuseppe Caforio offers a thorough analysis of the new aspects and trends of the social sciences in studying the military. Since the end of the Cold War, military operations other than war, crisis-response operations, the fight against terrorism, and hi-tech warfare have posed for the militaries of all countries a new set of human and social challenges and problems of an intensity that had never been seen in peacetime. Sociology, social psychology, anthropology and the science of conflict are grappling with these issues, common to all armed forces, with a new fervour. This new book offers an update on the state-of-the-art on this theme and defines the latest study and research trends in the field. Social Sciences and the Military contains essays by some of the most highly regarded scholars on the subject and will be essential reading for all students of civil-military relations, conflict resolution and military studies in general.
ISBN: 0415376467Julkaisupäivä: 2006
Turvallisuustoimijoiden yhteistyö operatiivis-taktisesta näkökulmasta Tekijä Julkaisupäivä: 2010
